Important Notice from An Garda Síochána

Due to changing of Garda Divisional Boundaries and the creation of the new Roscommon/Longford Division, from the 1st of January 2009 the new Headquarters for Clonark Station will be Roscommon Garda Station (telephone no. 090-6638300). In the event of an emergency always dial 999.

Athlone District will for the most part be unaffected by the changes in Garda Divisional Boundaries. There will however be a number of exceptions.

The following townlands of Athlone West Rural Electoral District (County Roscommon) will continue to be policed by Athlone Station:
Barry Beg, BarryMore, Bellanamullia, Bellaugh, Big Meadow, Bogganfin, Bunnaribba, Canal & Banks, Cartron, Cloonkille, Cloongowna, Corramore, Cuileen, Doovogue, Kilnamanagh, Monksland, Ranalagh, River Shannon, Hodson Bay.

The following townlands, which were previously policed by Athlone Garda Station, will transfer to Roscommon Garda district, under the Clonark Station Sub-District:

  • Carricknaghtan
  • Carrickynaghtan & Garrynagawna Bog
  • Crannagh
  • Crannagh Beg
  • Crannagh More
  • Garrynagawna
  • Wrens Island

Please refer to your local Garda Station for further information in relation to these changes.
Athlone Garda Station – 090 6498550
Roscommon Garda Station – 090 66800
Clonark Garda Station – 090 647102


Add your Biographical Info and they will appear here.