Clann na nGael Notes

Tansey Cup
Clann na nGael 1-5 Shannon Gaels 0-5
Emmet Durney got the Clann na nGael second team off to a winning start in the Tansey cup in Croghan against Shannon Gaels on Sunday morning.
Clann team: Darren Lennon, Shane Gavin, Daniel Harney, Ray Fallon, Emmet O’Connor, Eugene Pettit, Mark Connaughton, Liam Naughton, Emmet Rock, Ronan Killian, Alan Dunne, Emmet Kenny, Niall Lennon, Colin Nicholson, Darragh Lennon.

Minor League
Clann na nGael 0-11 St. Brigid’s 0-7
The Clann minor team travelled to Kiltoom to take on the home side in the opening game of the 2012 league. Ruadhri McManus opened the Clann account with a fine point, but Clann 0-3 to 0-1 down within 10 minutes Clann took control for five minutes and were a point to the god following scores from Ultan Harney, Ruadhri Mc Manus and Martin Flannery. The hosts rallied before half time to lead 0-6 to 0-4 at the break.
A brace of points from Ruadhri Mc Manus brought parity, but St. Brigid’s went to the front with another point midway through the second period. Once again the Clann lads surged on with points from Ultan Harney, Eoin Forde 2, Ruadhri Mc Manus and Mark Shine, these points were enough for Clann to record a deserved win. Best for Clann were Dylan Colgan, Ritchie Mc Manus, Paddy Harney, Darragh Golden and Eoin Forde.
Team and scorers: Dylan Colgan, Ritchie McManus, James Mc Manus, Martin Costello, Paddy Harney, Shane Petit, Martin Flannery 0-1, Ruadhri McManus 0-5, Aaron Shine, Malcom O’Hanlon, Pierce Harney Nolan, Darragh Golden, Rian McNamara, Ultan Harney 0-2, Colin Meehan. Subs: Eoin Forde 0-2, Jack Connaughton, Mark Shine 0-1, Cian McManus, Aaron O’Reilly, David Kildea.

Annual Supper Dance
Many thanks to the staff of Athlone Springs Hotel, who pulled out all the stops to give us a great night at the annual supper dance on Friday night. The victorious Junior A championship winning team were presented with their medals by Fergal O’Donnell. County chairman Michael Fahey also attended. Liam Dunne presented a novelty crossword which had the attendance scratching their heads. Na Fianna were in fine voice in providing the entertainment for the night. Also honoured were the following:

  • Caroline O’Neill – Ladies Young player of the year
  • Aisling Egan – Ladies senior player of the year
  • Emmet Kenny – Young Player of the year
  • Matt Scally – Senior player of the year
  • Cathal Kenny – Clubman of the year

Club membership
Clann na nGael are holding a registration evening next Friday evening in Johnstown between 7pm and 9.30pm. All members, new and lapsed, players and non players are asked to come along and sign up. Membership includes a free text messaging service with information about all fixtures, results and club news. Padraic Seery will be there to take all details, so come along and join the fun.

Clár Cluichí
Monday 19 March
O’Rourke Cup: Pádraig Pearses V Clann na nGael at 12:00pm in Páirc an Phiarsaigh.


Add your Biographical Info and they will appear here.