(English) Roscommon Feile Girls Final

Níl an leathanach seo ar fáil as Gaeilge, ach tá sé ar fáil as Béarla Meiriceánach. For the sake of viewer convenience, the content is shown below in the alternative language. You may click the link to switch the active language.

Feile Peil na nOg Girls Final
Clann na nGael 1-6   St Brigids 1-0
Clann U-14 girls defeated St Bridgets on Wednesday evening in Kiltoom to book their weekend at the national finals in Cavan. This game was played in dry, but bitter cold conditions, with a strong wind which favoured Clann in the first half. It was a half which Clann dominated with lots of possession but found it difficult to put the scores on the board against a strong defence. However points from Rebecca Naughton, Kayleigh Dunning and Aileen McEvilly soon settled them. The Brigids goalkeeper Emily Staunton and defenders Sarah Daly and Catherine Galvin were performing brilliantly repelling attack after attack. Clann’s midfield of Orla O’Neill and Katie Rock along with centre back Gillian Wall were the launchpad of many attacks  and finally one these resulted in a goal from substitute Karen Nicholson. Clann faced into a wind on the resumption which stiffened as the game wore on. It was evening when defences were on top, with both sets of  defenders working hard and executing the block tackle to good effect. Ciara Galvin and Ciara Costelloe were outstanding in the Clann defence but St Brigids finally got their goal when Sarah O’Rourke finished excellently after good approach work from Katie Kennedy. That was end of the scoring as Clann celebrated the win on referee’s Ray Burke’s final whistle and captain Ellen Harney accepted the Shield from County Board Secretary Francis Keane on behalf of the team.  
Clann na nGael: Marissa Murray, Leanne O'Connor, Ciara Galvin, Ciara Costelloe, Ellen Harney (C), Gillian Wall, Louise Curley, Katie Rock, Orla O'Neill, Anna Shine, Kayleigh Dunning, Aileen McEvilly (0-1), Grace Naughton, Rebecca Naughton, Melissa Glynn. Subs Karen Nicholson, Saoirse McManus, Gemma Nicholson, Jennifer Duignan, Deirdre Ward, Aoibhinn Golden, Hazel Menton, Orla Ward.


Add your Biographical Info and they will appear here.