(English) Roscommon Scór update

Níl an leathanach seo ar fáil as Gaeilge, ach tá sé ar fáil as Béarla Meiriceánach. For the sake of viewer convenience, the content is shown below in the alternative language. You may click the link to switch the active language.

Clann capture Connacht crown

Elphin Community Centre was the venue for the 2009 Scór Sinsear Connacht Final and a capacity crowd enjoyed over five hours of traditional entertainment, song and dance.

The first result of the afternoon to be known was from the Question Time competition, where the team of Tom Harney, Sean Murray and Tom Nolan captured the title. Despite a very tough set of questions from question master Jerry Doody they defeated reigning Connacht champions Bornacoola, of Leitrim, Mountbellew-Moylough, of Galway, Claremorris of Mayo and St. Molaise Gaels of Sligo. They will now be hoping to repeat their 2005 success and add an All-Ireland title to their county and provincial titles.

Unfortunately, despite some excellent performances, this was to be Roscommons sole success of the evening. The first performers on the stage were Kilglass Gaels in the Figure Dancing competition. They danced The Cross Reel but finished runners-up to reigning champions Glencar Manorhamilton.

In the Solo Singing contest Sarah Corcoran of Padraig Pearses sang The Mountain Streams, where the Moorcocks crow but she lost out to her Galway counterpart Claire Igoe from Corofin. Corofin made it two title in a row when they defeated Ballinameen, Garrymore, Bunninadden and Glencar-Manorhamilton.

The next competition was the Recitation and it held particular significance for the home club. Elphins Michael Rock represented Roscommon and his son, Dermot, represented London. Despite excellent performances by both Rock Snr. and Jnr. the title went to Catriona Lynskey from Garrymore, Co. Mayo. In the Ballad Group contest St Dominics performed Ringsend Rose and the Stocktons Wing classic Beautiful Affair but they lost out to Mountbellew-Moylough from Galway. St. Dominics were also Roscommons representatives in the Novelty Act competition with their play entitled Foreign Affairs. Despite a great performance they were defeated by Leitrim club Sean O Heslins.

In the final competition of the evening, Set Dancing, the home club, Elphin, represented Roscommon. They danced the Roscommon Lancers Set but lost out to the reigning champions Abbeyknockmoy from Galway.

Coiste Scór Ros Comáin would like to congratulate Elphin GAA club on successfully hosting the competition and Alastair Beegan, from Lecarrow, who did an excellent job as Fear an Tí.

The following will now represent Connacht in the All-Ireland Finals, which take place in the INEC, Killarney on Saturday April 18th :

  • Figure Dancing: Glencar Manorhamilton, Co. Leitrim
  • Solo Singing: Claire Igoe representing Corofin, Co. Galway
  • Instrumental Music: Corofin, Co. Galway
  • Recitation: Catriona Lynskey representing Garrymore, Co. Mayo
  • Ballad Group: Mountbellew-Moylough, Co. Galway
  • Question Time: Clann na nGael
  • Novelty Act: Sean OHeslins, Ballinamore, Co. Leitrim
  • Set Dancing: Abbeyknockmoy, Co. Galway

Corn Cormac Mac a Ghoill

As well as the eight Scor disciplines down for decision counties will also battle it out for the Cormac McGill Cup. The Cup was donated by the Connacht Council to honour the late Cormac, a former Cathaoirleach of Coiste Scór Liatroma and member of the national executive, who worked so hard to promote Scór and the Irish language, at all levels of the Association for many years. Points were awarded to counties based on the placing in all competitions and it was a fitting tribute that in this, the first year of the competition, the title went to Leitrim.

The cup was presented to Sean Suilleabhin, Cathaoirleach of Coiste Scór Liatroma by Ailbhe and Mary McGill. The final table was as follows:

  • Leitrim 29
  • Galway 26
  • Roscommon 24
  • Mayo 20
  • Sligo 12

All Ireland Tickets

As mentioned above the All-Ireland Final takes place in the INEC, Killarney on Saturday April 18th at 3pm. Tickets are priced at 22 and to place an order contact your local Scór officer as soon as possible or order them directly from Diane in the County Board Office, before 4pm on Wednesday April 1st.


Add your Biographical Info and they will appear here.